Old Shit

So, old shit. I’ve been thinking about getting old, feeling old, and different types of old. Same old shit.

While I was sitting on the couch and feeling old the other day, I looked down and took an inventory of my ensemble. I’d describe it as sloungewear with an heirloom, heritage feel. And well, it was all old, but in different ways.

Fake Old

1. A new, Colorado proud, graphic t-shirt depicting things people do there but I never will. It’s a “legacy” brand so that means it was “worn in” for me (thanks?) with raw edges, pre-pilled fabric, and weathered printing. There’s a clear mark where you can see where the edge of the screen ends. It attracts small tufts of cat hair.

True Old

2. A vintage slip that I bought 20 years ago and repaired a dozen times since. It’s adorable and it actually makes me want to say “Let me slip into something more comfortable.” It’s feminine and it was a fortune when I bought it but it’s still here. I lament the demise of the slip.

Made Old

3. Some Vera Wang “Simply Vera” jersey pajama pants: again, pilled, threadbare, the elastic is dry-rotted and all it it does is hang on you so you have to be careful going up and down the stairs otherwise you’ll break your neck. You can’t sleep in them or you’ll risk losing circulation.

Scary Old

Just pokin’ around, I quickly discovered the oldest food that I have in my house is pomodori sott’olio. It’s way old and I don’t even remember making them. It’s my mother-in-law’s recipe and it’s delicious but I can’t quite seem to make them like she does.  However old they are, they’re still tasty and safe cuz I ate one a few days ago and I’m still alive.

Here’s the recipe:

Dried Tomatoes

Mix the following in a glass jar of at least 1.5 l for at least a month before serving:

Fill jar with dried tomatoes to the brim, in at least 3 groups, adding spices for each third. Then pour in good olive oil to cover all and close for at least one month.

Spices:

  • whole cardamom seeds
  • curry leaves
  • whole dried green pepper corns
  • whole juniper berries
  • dried whole coriander seeds
  • whole pimento seeds

the quantities are as you see fit…!!!! I keep one jar brewing while I use the other.

Is this where I say “stay young” and not mean it?

Leave a comment